NaNoWriMo 2016: Ramping Up

It’s the last week of Nano…already. I can’t believe how fast this month have gone. Probably because I had a deadline.

I clocked 38,544 words last night so I am well on target.

The story is a little all over the place though. I am not sure where my start and middle are anymore as ideas for scenes just pop in my head and I just write them. I try to tie them in somehow to what I have already written but I go back and forth on the timeline a lot. Thankfully, thanks to Scrivener, I can easily keep track of all the scenes and at the end, using the cork board, I’ll be able to rearrange them.

The original plan to have 3 leading ladies is somewhat devolving as one of them takes more of the centre stage. Then again, as this is meant to be part of a series, I can highlight each character on different episodes.

A lot of the early scenes I wrote will probably belong to the Backstory folder in the end but it was useful to write them nonetheless and didn’t do any harm to the wordcount counter either.

Overall, this has been a much better experience for me than the previous years. I don’t feel as stressed about it and I think I have made some sort of plan helped.

Only 11,456 words to write in 8 days, which means my daily word count has gone down to 1,432 words. I am going to try to keep to 1,667 words if I can so I might even be done before the deadline of 30th. I have to think of an ending…which I have been putting of for some time now.

Soon my precious…soon.

Are you talking to me?

