NaNoWriMo 2016: On being lazy

I have said it before but I am very, very good at procrastinating. There are few things I hate more than having to do the chores around the house and I swear, if I ever strike it rich, the first thing I’ll do is get someone else to deal with that.

Yet, when I have a writing deadline, nothing looks more attractive than doing the dishes…or maybe spending six hours playing #TombRaider:DefinitiveEdition on my new PS4! Yep, instead of doing the two writing session per day at the weekend, I found myself lost on the freaky island trying to find GPS caches and killing bad guys with a loaded bow. Very entertaining to be truthful but hardly what I should have been doing during NaNoWriMo.

The problem (and it’s always been my biggest problem, even at school) is that I am on target and because of that, I knew that I only had to do fit in two writing session over the two days to keep on target. I did and I am still on target but I could have gotten myself a bigger buffer, especially that I might struggle to find time today.

So I feel a bit guilty but not guilty enough to do something about it. Story of my writing life. I am hardly going to finish that novel at this rate.

The story is moving along. I wrote my three dream sequences (one for each of my Leading Ladies) and I finally got my first bad guy encounter. I am betting that the first five chapters will get cut out at the editing process as it just is too slow a start but as NaNoWriMo is about finding your story, I am getting there. Providing I stop trying to get Lara killed.

 

Are you talking to me?

