Preparing for NaNoWriMo 2016

November is already upon us and with it the first frisson of chilly weather and talks of the next Nano.

Once again, I have decided to try my hand at it, still high from my success with Camp Nano and now I have better writing tool with #scrivener. At least I hope that it will help.

I have been working a plan and doing research for a story which wasn’t the plan after Camp Nano but that came to me.

Once again, I have started in a new direction before I even finished the other one. The difference this time is that I actually know what my ending should be like as I want this story to be serialised.

I thought, after Camp Nano 2106, that I wanted to write a YA story but I realised that I don’t really want to write about teenagers.

A couple of month I read a story in The Guardian about 3 retired single ladies who decided to buy a house together to fend off loneliness and just share happy times together and that inspired me… I could see myself living that way when I am older. I was a big fan of the TV series ‘Charmed’ as well and suddenly those 2 things came together.

Although I originally thought I was going to write about 3 retired ladies in an exotic island who discover they are witches, I realised there were too many unknowns in there for me to feel comfortable. Too much stuff to make up to start with. I want to concentrate on the characters and the action and if I have to create a whole new world and try to figure out how it would be to be an older lady then I think it would be too much.

So although I am keeping the same central theme 3 ladies, witchcraft “Charmed’ like…my ladies will not know each other at the start, they will be in their 30s and 40s (I can relate to either) and they will be living in South East London (again I can relate)…after that, let’s see what I can put them through…

I have started to do character bios and I also started a beat sheet, Snyder’s style to help pave the way so I roughly know where I am going this time.

I have one week to find as many beats as I can all the way to 25.

25 Chapters of 2000 words each and I should get one full novel. The plan is obviously to write 1,667 words per day at least so almost 1 chapter per day…

I couldn’t do it before…Really hoping that having some research done before will carry me forward.

Wish me luck.

 

Are you talking to me?

