Let’s talk about writing tools

Thanks to my most excellent win from Camp Nano 2016 (let’s see how much longer I can milk that cow!), I got me a 50% on Scrivener. That’s the writing software for a mere £22 including tax. Now that’s a price I was ok to pay as I know I can be excitable about a new ‘toy’ and then quickly get bored with it.

There is also a 50% discount on another writing tool called Storyist which I had never heard of before I saw the discount but after doing a little bit of research, I decided that Storyist wasn’t for me. Although I use a Mac, I liked that Scrivener had more features and I have no intention of using an iPad to write.

So far, I have been writing in Google docs which is great to synchronise your file across devices although I often write on the same device (my netbook) which is easy to transport and when I want to sneak in a writing session at work, I can do it in the same folder. This might have to change as Scrivener is now on my Mac which I tend to leave at work (it’s BYO in my company and I prefer not to lug my laptop in and out every day).

My last Nanos have been written on GDrive and I know that there could be issue of security but I don’t imagine that the US Government is that interested in my little stories for now. Once I am published (note the assertiveness of that), it might be a different matter.

I am going to try to write my next story on Scrivener. I am being optimistic when I stay ‘story’ as I have yet to finish one but let’s not get ourselves bogged down by semantics.

When I have ideas however, I like to write them long hand in one of my gazillions fancy notebooks. I confess to a small addiction to notebooks. Some I get for free as marketing ploys (yay for free stuff) and some I buy because they are pretty. Then I find myself at a loss on what to do with them…too pretty for work (where I only keep to do lists). So I use them for my journaling and my ‘writing ideas’ notes. Writing all the ideas that I have with some excerpt as sometimes scenes come to me all ready complete, helps me keep my mind focused on the current story…otherwise, the new ideas would like earworms and would not leave me alone…

So to recap my own writing tools:

  • Google Drive
  • Scrivener
  • Long hand

I know some people publish their stories straight into their blogs for instant feedback but I am not that brave.

What about you? What do you use and are you happy with it?

 

Are you talking to me?

