So you won Camp Nano, now what?

That is a very good question.

Although I technically won Camp Nano by completing my self imposed wordcount goal, I didn’t actually finish the story I was writing.

I have now 2 options…well 3.

  1. I keep going with the story until I have a completed rough draft
  2. I park it for now and move on to another project to avoid boredom
  3. I park it permanently

I don’t think I want to do 3 as I still like the story. I don’t automatically love all the developments that sprint writing pushed me towards but I think there is something there.

I had some time last week whilst I was waiting for my train back home (from my most awesome holiday in France) and I jotted down some ideas for additional scenes. Some were to complete the story and some where to tie in the beginning plot lines with later ‘unrelated’ ones. Yet, I am still a little bored with it now that the momentum is over. I do however have an idea for a YA story with a much younger heroine than I am normally used to.

This stems from a few things:

  1. I have a 4 and half years old and a 18 months old nieces that I would like to inspire since I have spent so much time on a feminist FB group and realised that there aren’t so many options for girls
  2. I have started reading Book 2 of Skulduggery Pleasant series where the heroine is a 12 years old girl (I highly recommend this series even if you are a grown ass woman like me)
  3. I got reminded how much I used to love the French version of Nancy Drew books (Alice Roy) when I was on holidays as I have as many books of the series as I could find still lined up on my childhood bedroom’s bookshelves
  4. I just like the idea of a kick ass girl which I wasn’t

I also love adventure books and movies. The Goonies is still  my favourite movie and I would like to try a capture that with the added layer of the supernatural.

I wasn’t sure of what I wanted my girl to be able to do. I can’t have her be an Elemental witch like my last story and like Valkyrie Cain (Skulduggery Pleasant books) as it would feel too samey.

Then I remembered that one of TV shows of the 80s I really liked (despite being short lived and not that well acted) was a series called ‘Manimal‘ in which a playboy played by British actor Simon McCorkindale  transformed in various useful animals when in dire straights to save the day and the damsel (yawn on that part). I always liked that idea and have wanted to use this concept using a female character…I am not going to use the same background of course as it would be plagiarism but my kick ass girl will find herself able to transform into certain animals at will and not via a full moon curse like were-people.

I have a lot of research to do as I also want to add a Greek mythology layer to it…wonder if I am not trying to do too much too soon…

Oh well, if you don’t try, you don’t get anywhere, do you? And better have tried and failed than not tried at all!

Let’s see how it all pans out, shall we?

 

 

Are you talking to me?

