Camp NaNoWriMo 2016: Day 2 – So far So good

I am not going to bore you with a blow by blow of each of my writing days but I will try to keep some updates on the highs and lows.

Week one tends to be one of high as you are pump, it’s all new and you have potentially been thinking about this for a while so you have tons of ideas you are ready to commit to page.

I never know if I should plan or pants. In my real life, planning is essential but at the same time, I have to be able to adapt to last minute request so a degree of pantsing is necessary. I have mild OCD – nothing clinical – I like to have my books, DVDs and CDs (yes I still have a few of those) sorted in alphabetical order and I hate it when someone tries to put things back on the shelf. They always put it back wrong…and…no, this is not about my organisational hang ups. Moving on. Sorry.
I did some planning for the past few months: I had a backstory, a main character and a couple of secondary characters. I had some ideas of what was the plot but that was quite loose and was the thing that was worrying me the most.
I had a setting too. Contrary to the advice I found on books and online, I had chosen to base my story in San Francisco. I have been there once and although I was a bit disappointed by it (I had really high expectations on it and we entered through the worst part of the city after having spent a few days in the pretty city of Santa Barbara), I still think it’s a cool Californian setting.

All of that went out of the window on Day 1. I kept my main character’s name and some qualities but everything else has changed. The story is now based in London (write what you know) and all the other secondary characters are different and so is the backstory. But the biggest change in the story is the opening scene: my MC finds a dead body.

I wasn’t planning on writing a mystery but there you go.

My only advice for those who want to participate (if you haven’t already signed up, do it now!) is to try to find a good cabin. Over the past years I just let myself be allocated a random cabin and I often found myself with people in different time zones. It’s nice to have diversity but not ideal when you want to share support.
This year, as I belong the NaNoWriMo London Facebook group, we managed to coordinate ourselves our own cabin and we have done our first virtual write-in using Skype and that was really great as you share some of your frustrations and doubt but also set writing sprints which focuses your writing.

At the end of Day 2 I had reached 2,527 words which is over my target (yay). Of course this is the beginning and I am always prolific until Chapter 3…

I have planned to do a session later today and hopefully I will be disciplined enough to do a daily session.

Good luck everyone…see you on the other side.

 

Are you talking to me?

