Preparing for NaNoWriMo 2014

nanologo1

First I have a confession to make…since Camp NaNo, I haven’t written anything more than some notes, ideas, character traits, fleeting moments that pass through my head…but no chapters or paragraphs that could be seen as part of a story…not even a proper blog post. Bad Chymeera.

The first rule of writing is to write…every single “tips to become a better writer” I come across tells that. Yet, since Camp NaNo, I have let life (and work mostly) get in the way. I am not trying to justify myself (well, maybe I am) but I have myself unexpectedly busy on the day job (pays the bills after all, and when you live in London, those bills ain’t cheap, let me tell you). Add to that, that I am trying to buy my first flat and I get home so drained that all I want to do is veg on the sofa watching mindless tv. To be fair, outside of reading and writing, this is my favourite thing to do.

cartoon-cat-lazyBut I need to shake myself off this lazy loop and what better time to do this that NaNoWriMo. I work better with tight deadline and in writing I don’t think they come any tighter…30 days, 50,000 words? Well that’s the challenge, isn’t it? For Camp NaNo I was able to complete 20,000 words in 30 days and that was in July with a 2 weeks holiday playing aunty to my favourite (and only) nephew so I am thinking November, being grim with no chances of being distracted by gorgeous weather should be possible…right? Right.

That said, I have been thinking about participating for a year so I am not totally unprepared for it and as said earlier, although I haven’t actually written within a story, I have been building ideas, plot lines (my weak points), characters and story arcs in preparation for it.

I have decided to stay in the same area as the story I tried to start for Camp NaNo so it will be a sci-fi/adventure story – I can’t bring myself to call it a novel yet as it would mean I have to work out a beginning, a middle and an end for it and that is one of my big challenges. I am quite a good starter but I tend to fizzle out as I never know for sure what I want to achieve or want my character to want…I think I have it this time for this particular story and the challenge will be on how I’ll manage to make my lady (always) get there whilst keeping the conflicts coming.

So, how am I preparing for NaNoWriMo, you might ask, as it is after all the title of this post…

psychingupmeme1) Psyching myself up, telling myself it’s no big deal…no one ever does anything in November

2) Checking past blog post about NaNoWriMo by people who have done it

3) Read tips on what to do…although most could apply for any novel project you want to start

post-it-wall4) Collecting as many ideas, research, character notes and world info I can and saving all that in a special NaNoWriMo 2014 folder I created on my Google Drive so it’s all there when I need it.

I also need to decide when I am going to block time in November to write…Do I wake up earlier so I can do it before work or make sure I don’t switch the telly on when I get home in the evening? November is a dark month, so either way, it will be dark outside….

What about you? How will you prepare yourself for NaNoWriMo 2014? I’d love to hear from you…

Signature2

3 thoughts on “Preparing for NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. Pingback: My NaNoWriMo Prep Week 2014 | How to Live the Freelance Life

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Countdown – 4: What To Write… | What If It All Means Something

  3. Pingback: 2014 NaNoWriMo Trashy Romance Challenge: Day 1 | Write on the World

Are you talking to me?

